

FACULTY SENATE

March 1, 2016

<u>Officers</u>
Philip Glick (PRESENT)
Cynthia Tysick (PRESENT)
James Hassett (PRESENT)

School of Architecture2

Ernest Sternberg (ABSENT) Michael Silver (PRESENT)

College of Arts and Sciences 18	
Alex Anas (PRESENT)	
Ana Mariella Bacigalupo	
Alternate Jaume Franquesa (ABSENT)	
Michael J. Cowen (ABSENT)	
Sergey Dolgopolski (PRESENT)	
Stephen Dyson (PRESENT)	
Walter N. Hakala (PRESENT)	
David E. Johnson (ABSENT)	
Jacob D. Kathman (ABSENT)	
Nicholas Lustig (ABSENT)	
Sara Metcalf (PRESENT)	
Alyssa Mt. Pleasant (ABSENT)	
Harvey Palmer (ABSENT)	
Katja Praznik (EXCUSED)	
David F. Schmid (EXCUSED)	
Jean-Jacques Thomas (PRESENT)	
Camilo D. Trumper (PRESENT)	
Paul Zarembka (ABSENT)	

Ewa Ziarek (ABSENT)

School of Dental Medicine ₄
Ilaf Almawaldi (ABSENT)
Michael Hatton (PRESENT)
Raymond Miller (PRESENT)
Benita Sobieraj (PRESENT)

<u>Graduate School of Education</u> ₅
Maureen Boyd (EXCUSED-SENT ALTERNATE)
Kayte Conroy (PRESENT)
Lilliam Malave (PRESENT)
Sarah Robert (EXCUSED)
Margaret Sallee (PRESENT)

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Paul DesJardin (PRESENT)
Bharat Jayaraman (PRESENT)
Steven Ko (ABSENT)
Satish Mohan (ABSENT)
Dimitris Pados (ABSENT)
Abani Patra (PRESENT)
Mark Swihart (PRESENT)
Marina Tsianou (EXCUSED)

<u>School</u>	of	Law ₂	
Martha	McC	luckov	(FYC

Martha McCluskey (EXCUSED)

Matt Steilen (ABSENT)

Mateo Taussig-Rubbo (Alt)

School of Management₂

Jun Ru (PRESENT)

Larry Sanders (FSEC – Spring) (ABSENT)

Sudhir Suchak (FSEC- Fall)

School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences23
Omar Al-Ibrahim (PRESENT)
Nikolaos Almyroudis (ABSENT)
Daniel Amsterdam (ABSENT)
Daniel Antonius (PRESENT)
Jeffrey Anker (PRESENT)
Peter Bradford (ABSENT)
Michael Chaskes (PRESENT)
George Chen
Clarice Cooper (PRESENT)
Peter Elkin (EXCUSED-SENT ALTERNATE)
Julia Faller (PRESENT)
Edward Fine (ABSENT)
Richard Gronostajski (ABSENT)
Supriya Mahajan (PRESENT)
Dennis Nadler (ABSENT)
Chukwumere Nwogu (PRESENT)
Sangita Patel (PRESENT)
Gabriela Popescu (EXCUSED-SENT ALTERNATE)
Rajeev Sharma (PRESENT)
George Simpson (ABSENT)
Satpal Singh (EXCUSED)
Susan Udin (ABSENT)
Taechin Yu (PRESENT)

School of Nursing ₂
Grace Dean (PRESENT)
Donna Fabry (PRESENT)

School of Pharmacy ₂		
Alice Ceacareanu (EXCUSED-SENT ALTERNATE)		

Fred Doloresco (PRESENT)

School of Public Health & Health Professions

Peter Horvath (PRESENT)

Heather Kearns (PRESENT) Jim Lenker (ABSENT)

School of Social Work²

Robert Keefe (ABSENT) Kathleen Kost (PRESENT)

SUNY Senators₃

Cemal Basaran (PRESENT) Heather Montague (PRESENT)

Ezra Zubrow (PRESENT)

University Libraries

Glendora Johnson-Cooper (EXCUSED-SENT ALTERNATE)

Liz Stellrecht (PRESENT)

Margaret Wells (PRESENT)

Invited Guests
Satish Tripathi (PRESENT)
Charles Zukoski (PRESENT)
Domenic Licata (PRESENT)
Peter Knuepfer (PRESENT)
Sharon Cramer (PRESENT)
Claude Welch (PRESENT)
Sharon Nolan-Weiss (PRESENT)

Meeting began at 3:00pm

- Minutes from 2/2/16 approved
- Chair's report
 - Introduced SUNY Senate Chair Peter Neffer.
 - Announced that Chancellor Zimpher will teleconference in to answer prescreened questions.
 - Noted the historic nature or the joint meeting of Faculty Senate and Professional Staff Senate
 - Declared, per approval of the President, the first Tuesday of March as "Shared Governance Day"
- President's Report-tabled
- Provost's Report-tabled
- 2nd Reading of the Resolution to amend Item III.F of the Faculty Handbook. Student Evaluation of Courses-tabled
- 2nd Reading of the Resolution to Green the Commons-tabled

Meeting adjourned at 3:15p

Submitted by Cynthia Tysick, Secretary of the Faculty Senate April 1, 2016